Martin Joseph O’Toole (27 May 1925 – 1 October 2013) was an Irish Fianna Fáil politician.[1] He was a Senator from 1977 to 1989, then a Teachta Dála (TD) from 1989 to 1992.[2]
Born in Louisburgh, County Mayo, O’Toole was a farmer, livestock exporter and haulage contractor before entering politics.[2] He was a member of Mayo County Council and served as chairman on a number of occasions.[1] He was elected in 1977 to the 14th Seanad Éireann on the Agricultural Panel. O’Toole was returned to the Seanad four times until the 1989 general election when he was elected to Dáil Éireann as a TD for Mayo West. He stood down at the 1992 general election after serving only one term in the Dáil.[3]

^ a b “Death of former FF TD Martin J O’Toole”. RTÉ News. 2 October 2013. Retrieved 2 October 2013. 
^ a b “Mr. Martin J. O’Toole”. Oireachtas Members Database. Retrieved 26 January 2012. 
^ “Martin O’Toole”. Retrieved 11 February 2008. 


« 17th Seanad «   Members of the 18th Seanad Éireann (1987–1989) » 19th Seanad »

Cathaoirleach Tras Honan (FF)
Leader of the Seanad Mick Lanigan (FF)

Administrative Panel

Katharine Bulbulia (FG)
Michael Doherty (FF)
Joe Doyle (FG)
Seán Haughey (FF)
Tras Honan (FF)
Patrick Kennedy (FG)
Mary Wallace (FF)

Agricultural Panel

Paul Bradford (FG)
John Connor (FG)
Michael Ferris (Lab)
Tom Fitzgerald (FF)
Thomas Hussey (FF)
Rory Kiely (FF)
Pádraic McCormack (FG)
Charles McDonald (FG)
Patrick McGowan (FF)
Martin O’Toole (FF)
William Ryan (FF)

Cultural and Educational Panel

Sean Byrne (FF)
Joachim Loughrey (FG)
Maurice Manning (FG)
Tony McKenna (FF)
Paschal Mooney (FF)

Industrial and Commercial Panel

Eddie Bohan (FF)
Jack Daly (FG)
Seán Fallon (FF)
Willie Farrell (FF)
Jack Fitzsimons (FF)
Phil Hogan (FG)
Mick Lanigan (FF)
Brian O’Shea (Lab)
Gerry Reynolds (FG)

Labour Panel

Donie Cassidy (FF)
Denis Cregan (FG)
Nuala Fennell (FG)
Des Hanafin (FF)
Jack Harte (Lab)
Brian Hillery (FF)
Peter Kelleher (FG)
Dan Kiely (FF)
Don Lydon (FF)
Larry McMahon (FG)
Brian Mullooly (FF)

National University of Ireland

John A. Murphy (Ind)
Joe O’Toole (Ind)
Brendan Ryan (Ind)

University of Dublin

David Norris (Ind)
Mary Robinson (Ind)
Shane Ross (Ind)

Nominated by the Taoiseach

Séamus Cullimore (FF)
Éamon de Buitléar (Ind)
George Eogan (Ind)
Brian Friel (Ind)
John Magnier (Ind)